What’s Your One Word?

I’ve always been somewhat of a “Word Nerd.”  I love how certain words appeal to my senses and I can truly experience them as I read, write, or speak.  Take the word marshmallow, for example.  It sounds so squishy when you say it, just like the treat itself. I’m also really into doing word studies–digging deeper into a word’s meaning and discovering other related words.

So, when I first heard about the idea of choosing “one word” for a new year, I was hooked.  I especially loved this idea because setting resolutions always left me feeling like a failure by February.  Let’s be honest…how many of us have truly ever stuck with a resolution for an entire year?  I never have, yet year after year I would set myself up for failure and write a new one.  Isn’t that the definition of insanitydoing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result?

My final resolution was this:  Stop. The. Insanity.

This will be my 9th year to choose a One Word and I definitely plan to continue the practice, and here’s why:

It works.

I’ve discovered that choosing one word to focus on for the year has helped me to live out each day with more intentionality; the words have guided my steps and helped me make better decisions.  And, unlike resolutions, I’ve never abandoned a single one of my One Words.  I have looked back on each year and felt satisfied with the progress I made and the changes produced in my character.  This habit has truly been life-changing.

As each year comes to a close, I get so excited to see what word God will give me for the upcoming year.  I’ve found it helpful to spend some time preparing my heart in the following ways:

  1.  Spend a lot of time in His Word.  Each and every word He has given me so far has come straight from the most important Word…the Word of God.
  2. Reflect on the previous year:  journal; make a “less of” and “more of” list for the coming year; make a list of dreams/goals.
  3. Read through old journals and try to find a theme.  Often a word will jump out at me.
  4. Pray.  And wait for confirmation.  (This is the fun part!)

Each January I am filled with joyful expectation, eagerly anticipating what God will do through my One Word focus.  This year is no different.  It’s only day 5 and He has already used my new word, prepare, in huge ways!  I can’t wait to see how this powerful word will continue to shape my heart, mind, and actions in 2019.

What’s your ONE WORD for 2019?  I’d love to hear how and why you chose your word!

Happy New Year,

Trish

Next Time:  10 Ways to Go Deeper with Your One Word

2 thoughts on “What’s Your One Word?

  1. You’ve inspired me! My one word for the year is Organization. Not to say organization of items, but the organization of thoughts and tasks that I need to complete.

    Like

    1. Sandi, what a great word! I’m curious…what is something you plan to do this week to live out your word? I’m hoping you’ll inspire me because I find my thoughts get “cluttery” at times too…

      Like

Leave a comment